Croydon Important Numbers




 

NHS Direct

•NHS Direct 0845 46 47 – Self-help guide. Find your nearest doctors/dentist/opticians/pharmacy.
•NHS 24 0845 424 2424 – Health Information and Self Care Advice for Scotland
•NHS Direct Wales – Health information for people in Wales

Sexual Health

•HIV/AIDS – Lighthouse – 020 7242 1010 – 12-10 Mon-Sun – HIV/AIDS support/questions
•Sexwise – advice about sex/relationships/contraception, 0800 28 29 30
•Family Planning Association – 0845 122 8690, 9am-6pm Mon-Fri
•Brook – 08000 185 023, 9am-5pm Mon-Fri, or 020 7950 7700 for the 24 hour helpline

Mental Health

•The Samaritans – 08457 90 90 90 (UK) or 1850 60 90 90 (ROI) – provides confidential non-judgemental support, 24 hours a day for people experiencing feelings of distress or despair, including those which could lead to suicide.
•Mind – 0845 766 0163 – Information about mental illness

Drug Awareness

 
•National Drugs Helpline – 0800 776 600 – Mon-Fri 24 hours –

IMPORTANT TRAVEL INFORMATION AND WEB SITES TRAINS

c2c:http://www.c2 c-online.co.uk

Chiltern Railways: http://www.chilternrailways.co.uk

Eurostar: http://www.eurostar.com

First Great Western: http://www.firstgreatwestern.co.uk

GNER:/: http/www.gner.co.uk

Gatwick Express: http://www.gatwickexpress.co.uk

Heathrow Express: http://www.heathrowexpress.co.uk

One Railway: http://www.onerailway.com

Silverlink Trains: http://www.silverlink-trains.com

Southeast Trains: http://www.setrains.co.uk

Southern Railway: http://www.southernrailway.com

Southwest Trains: http://www.swtrains.co.uk

Stansted Express: http://www.stanstedexpress.com

Thameslink: http://www.thameslink.co.uk

Virgin Trains: http://www.virgintrains.co.uk

WAGN: http://www.wagn.co.uk 

Wales & Borders Trains: http://www.walesandborderstrains.co.uk

Wessex Trains: http://www.wessextrains.co.uk

RAILCARDS

A Young Persons Railcard may give you a reduction of about a third on the price of rail tickets – this can be bought by any full-time student, or any person aged between 16 and 25. In 2009 this card cost £26 for a year. There is a minimum fare if you travel before 10 o’clock in the morning (except in July and August). For full details, see: www.youngpersons-railcard.co.uk.

BUYING A TICKET

You can buy tickets online at TheTrainline
Tickets can be sent to an address in the UK (or you can have your tickets sent to some train stations).

There are several advantages of buying tickets online:
– You avoid the need to queue (this saves you time and may stop you from missing your train).
– You can see the prices of all of the available tickets.
– Tickets, which are bought in advance, can be much cheaper than tickets bought on the day of travel.

The train fare system in the UK is complicated. If you are not careful, you may pay much more than necessary. Note the following:
– Tickets which are bought in advance (eg “Apex” tickets) can be much cheaper than tickets bought on the day of travel.
– “Day return” tickets are cheaper than tickets which allow you to return on a different day.
– Tickets for trains leaving after the rush-hour has finished (eg 09:30 or 10:00) are usually cheaper.
– If you travel by train several times a year, you may save money by purchasing a railcard.
– Discounts are sometimes available for people travelling as a group.
– When you buy a ticket at a ticket office, always show any railcards or travelcards (some railcards will also give a discount to other people travelling with the holder, and if you have a London travel card you may only need to pay for the train journey outside the zones in London which this covers).
– There are sometimes long queues at the ticket offices of busy stations, especially in London.
– Usually you have to buy a ticket before you get on a train. If you get on a train without a ticket you may have to pay a fine or to buy a more expensive ticket.

TRAVELLING BY BUS
PLANNING YOUR JOURNEY

Journey planning

To plan a journey by bus, Tube or train within London, use Transport for London’s Journey Planner:
(1) Go to http://journeyplanner.tfl.gov.uk and click on “Journey planner”
(2) Enter the day and time you want to travel, your starting point and destination
(3) If you want to plan cheaper journeys which use only buses and not trains and the Tube, click on “More Options” at the bottom. Click on the boxes under “Means of Transport” until there is only a tick next to “London Buses”
(4) Click on the “Submit” button
(5) The four fastest options will be shown. Click on “Show these route details” for full information.

Maps

At a Transport Information Centre or at a bus station you can ask also for a free bus map for Central London, North West London, North East London, South West London or South East London. A map of Night Buses is useful if you may need to travel after midnight. You can also buy a Greater London Bus Map. Bus numbers are shown along the roads on which the buses travel, and are shown inside a box at the start and end of the route (note that some buses do not travel to the end of the route: check the destination shown at the front of the bus).
Online bus maps are available at: http://www.tfl.gov.uk/buses/buses_map.shtml.
To see a street map of the area around a bus stop, enter the road name in: http://www.multimap.com.